New Users: Introduce Yourself

Comments

• edited July 2007
    I also wandered over here from urban planet.

I graduated from MSU a few years back, and have been interested in Lansing ever since.
    In fact, after years in California, and now the South, I am ready to move back to Michigan. If Lansing would get a light rail system, I would even consider retiring there.
  • Glad to see another fresh face.

If you're hoping for light rail, I really wouldn't count on it. The fall-through of the Detroit-Ann Arbor system sort of sends a "we don't want to spend the money" type signal to me, not only for a system in that area, but across the State. I could imagine a system in the Lansing area that would span from Capital City Airport to Okemos, but LMich made a good point when he said Capital City doesn't get the traffic to support a start/end point for the system. Maybe someday though.

Anyways, I do hope you're encouraged by all the new developments in the area, and welcome to the board!
  • edited July 2007
    DDOT is moving forward with a Woodward light rail line (possibly a Michigan Avenue line), and the Brighton(ish)-Ann Arbor commuter line is stil moving heavily forward. I'm not sure where the pessimism comes from. Considering how backwards we've been, you'd expect nothing less than for it to take some times to get things going. In fact, those involved with commuter and light-rail proposals in the state are surprised at how fast everything is moving forward, and how few setbacks there have been.
  • I think the first line should go from the Meridian Mall area to the Lansing Mall area. Once people were used to it, perhaps a Holt to airport line could run with connections downtown.

I don't want to be a blue haired grandpa driver, but I want transit options when I give up my car.

I am amazed how many former Midwesterners would like to return home.