Block600 (600 East Michigan)

Comments

• I won't be holding my breath, but I view it as inevitable that he will eventually develop those lots. Maybe he's waiting for the city to fund a parking solution, I'm not sure how likely that is though.
  • I'm not a developer, so I don't know the costs associated with underground parking, but there must be diminishing returns on this or you'd think he would build underground for parking and use the surface for additional units in dense...or intended dense districts like downtown.

It seems as though the Marketplace lot could have supported a phase 3 equal in size to the previous phases if we invested in underground parking from the beginning.

• Are parking lots so lucrative that "developers" just sit on these huge areas of downtown and rake in parking fees? Building owners are required to keep up their property why do these lot owners get away with these eyesores? I may be wrong but it seems the Urban Systems guys are doing the same thing. Nearly all the surface lots on the south side of downtown have new signage that says Lansing Community Housing on the same lots they have been talking about developing.
    Here is my bright idea, the city could build a couple of massive parking structures on the Cedar Larch corridor, offer a free and easy trip to the center of downtown, charge far less for parking than the surface lots and take away their customers. This could inspire these guys to build something and make more money from rents and leases in a building. How about making the city parking free! Would anarchy brake out?:} Maybe the taxes collected on now built on surface lots would offset much of the loss of revenue from parking fees. It's my belief that paying for parking is the one thing that keeps many people from even considering going downtown. It has been the same problem for about 70 years or whenever they started charging. Just brainstorming I know this is very unlikely.