General Lansing Development

Comments

• Thanks for the info. I know that MLK is part of M-99, I was kind of bemoaning the fact that ever since it was built it never saw the traffic it was built for, and they destroyed a lot of that neighborhood to build the boulevard.They use to truck the finished cars over to transport lots on Mt. Hope so there were a lot of trucks on S. Logan, and the traffic at shift change was very bad,so I know why they built it. I was a student at Sexton and walked over the new highway as it was being finished and also over the old Logan street bridge on the way home. The old bridge needed replacing but it was a much nicer in design with high arches over the river.

Your Dad's neighborhood must have had more clout than the folks on the west side. They did not let anything or anyone stop 496 and M-99, not even R.E. Olds's own house! I am sure that race my have played a part in who could raise their voice in opposition.

• 1-496 sure changed the dynamics of Lansing. I believe the government took many people's land under the guise of eminent domain, including the Olds Mansion an amazing building from my childhood memories.