General Lansing Development

Comments

• Yeah, my background is retail, not food service, so I'm not really the person to do it, but I think it's an idea that definitely has legs.

The market has always been a mess, even before the pole barn. It's just not a convenient location for one. I'd much rather see it in a place that is more accessible to shoppers -not on a one way road, and with a higher population density. Investing in Allen Street would be another way to go. There is already really nice traffic there and it has the real potential to be a bigger market. I've also been a big advocate of centralized checkout in the markets. Easier for shoppers and easier for vendors too.

• From the article: "Schor said all options are on the table, including selling the building and leasing its land."

It looks to me like the City Market is being sold or leased to a developer, if the city were smart it would put out a request for proposals to get a better quality project. I'd love to see a high rise here and it would make a good location for a hotel. I think this is potentially for the better as long as the city gets behind the building of a bigger better City Market elsewhere.

• I think it would be good for the city to study what went wrong if they want to continue to have a "city market". I think it would provide a story in which the city even in desperate times finds it is important to consider everything from the number of potential costumers for this type of market to the design of the space inside and out. Even though this building cost a lot of money it was just wrong from the start and seems to have had no thought put into the design of that space at all, it has the look and feel of something built on the cheap. Lansing has to get away from "building a half-assed development is better than nothing" idea because in the this case it was not.The city should sell that space and use the proceeds to improve all downtown parks.

• edited May 2018